Safety First: Navigating Hazardous Area Classifications in Heat Trace Design

Safety First: Navigating Hazardous Area Classifications in Heat Trace Design

In the realm of industrial operations, safety is paramount, especially in environments where explosive atmospheres can pose grave risks. When crafting heat trace designs, a comprehensive understanding of hazardous area classifications is essential. This understanding ensures that heat trace systems are meticulously designed to uphold safety standards and prevent potential hazards. In this blog, we'll unravel the intricacies of hazardous area classifications, with a focus on Zones and Divisions, and their profound impact on heat trace system design.

The Class/Division System:

In North America, the Class/Division System is a bedrock for defining hazardous locations. It's comprised of two integral components - Classes and Divisions - that delineate the nature and likelihood of hazardous substances present.

Classes :

Class I: Encompasses locations where flammable gases, vapors, or liquids are present. Class I is subdivided into Groups A, B, C, and D, based on the specific properties of the substances.

Class II: Pertains to sites with combustible dust. Class II is further classified into Groups E, F, and G, which correspond to different dust properties.

Class III: Enunciates locations where ignitable fibers or flyings are present, like cotton or lint. This class doesn't have subdivisions.


Divisions :

Division 1: Refers to areas where hazardous substances are present during normal operations or during malfunction scenarios.

Division 2: Designates locations where hazardous substances are present only during abnormal conditions.


The Zone System: 

Internationally, the Zone System serves as a parallel framework for hazardous area classification. It takes into account the likelihood of hazardous substances' presence.


Zones :

Zone 0: Signifies an environment where hazardous substances are present continuously or for extended periods.

Zone 1: Designates areas where hazardous substances might be present under normal operating conditions.

Zone 2: Applies to regions where hazardous substances are not likely to be present, and if they are, it's only for a short duration.



Understanding hazardous area classifications profoundly influences the design process of heat trace systems:

Equipment Selection: Equipments must align with the classification requirements. For instance, Zones mandate Zone-certified devices, and Division 1 areas necessitate explosion-proof equipment.

Enclosures: Hazardous areas demand explosion-proof enclosures designed to contain potential explosions.

Cable Types and Insulation: Selection of heat trace cables and insulation is pivotal. Self-regulating cables, mineral-insulated cables, and fire-resistant insulation gain prominence.

Control and Monitoring: Controllers and monitoring devices must be intrinsically safe or explosion-proof to ensure safety in volatile environments.

Installation and Maintenance: Stringent adherence to safety guidelines specific to the classification ensures safe installation and ongoing maintenance.


Complying with Regulatory Standards

Absolute compliance with standards like the National Electrical Code (NEC) in North America or International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standards globally is non-negotiable.


Wrapping Up

In the labyrinthine landscape of hazardous environments, comprehending hazardous area classifications is akin to wielding a compass of safety. Zones and Divisions not only steer your heat trace design choices but also foster an environment where safety prevails. By weaving these classifications into your heat trace designs, you fashion systems that are not just functional but fortified against potential threats, ensuring the well-being of personnel and the integrity of your operations.

Author: Ignis Trace


You can contact us through our Contact Page to get information about SOLCO PYROELEC products..